“It was the look on their faces”

Let’s get this blog rolling…

My name is William Demeritt, and I’m a Steadicam and camera operator based in Los Angeles, CA. I used to “blog” more frequently on other sites, and contribute to a number of forums about filmmaking. I decided to make my own so I could create a diversity of posts in a single place rather than posting a diversity of ideas in several places.

The things I plan on sharing here are not only my thoughts on my craft, my colleagues and my industry, but also articles I find fascinating and relevant to those topics and life on a whole. I love technology, primarily anything that changes how we live. Yes, I’m a computer geek, technologist, soon-to-be husband, and more.

I will wax philosophically about movies, my industry, and my craft of camera operating in general. I’ve worked in the film industry for quite a while now, but I’ve also watched movies all my life… and thought about movies ALL MY LIFE. People compliment me on my instincts and intuition, but that’s because for my while life, I have framed my world with my eyes as a camera operator lines up his shot. I don’t consider my photographic eye separate from my own eyes; they are one in the same, in that I get a chill looking at something incredible the same as I do when I photograph it properly.

Rumor has it when shooting the arrival of the “sackers” to Sam Shepard’s farm in “Days of Heaven”, Nestor Almendros pulled back from the eyepiece with tears in his eyes, answering his AC’s concern with: “It’s just one of those shots.” I’m not that emotional a man, but I know how that feels. I go to work every single day hoping to get that feeling.

Most film professionals who decided to quit their 9-5 and change career paths have a remarkable story about making movies with their parents camcorder or super 8 camera. I just have a lifetime of film watching, discussing, framing and feeling.

I’m here to help you play make believe, tell a scary story, and take your viewer inside your head.

“The audience knows the truth: the world is simple. It’s miserable, solid all the way through. But if you could fool them, even for a second, then you can make them wonder, and then you… then you got to see something really special… you really don’t know?… it was… it was the look on their faces…” -Robert Angier, “The Prestige”

About wbd3

Camera / Steadicam owner Operator based in Los Angeles
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “It was the look on their faces”

  1. *2* says:

    You used the word “wax” in a non-sexual or de-folliculation capacity. I will hump your leg good and proper the next time I see you for having done so, good sir.

    *2*

Leave a Reply

